My Review of Roku 2 XS Streaming Player

by daverj

Originally submitted at Roku

Adds an enhanced remote for playing games, plus extra connectivity options.

Great product, highly recommended!

By DaverJ from Knoxville, TN on 8/25/2011

 

4out of 5

Pros: Easy to set up, Compact, Low wattage, Easy to use, Great value, Netflix Adaptive Bitrate

Cons: No optical, Outputs full range video

Best Uses: Primary TV, Netflix

Describe Yourself: Home entertainment enthusiast, Netflix fan

Frustrated with my TiVo Premiere’s Netflix, I wanted a better option. So I hooked up the Roku 2 XS to my primary TV, mainly to get Netflix adaptive bitrate streaming. This is the newer way to stream Netflix to prevent re-buffering, which interrupts the movie or show if the internet temporarily slows down.

Easy to set up, and it works great. It does Netflix and Amazon rentals so much better than the TiVo!

I wish it had an optical out. The only way for the Roku box to get 5.1 surround from Netflix is via HDMI pass-through to an A/V receiver with Dolby Digital PLUS. My legacy receiver doesn’t have DD+, but I still wish the Roku 2 had optical for Amazon rentals and other sources.

Also, the Roku 2 is outputting only full-range video (0-255), which will look dark and loose lots of shadow details on many TVs, including mine. I wrote Roku about this, and they said there should be a software update soon the will detect if the TV can display full-range or limited range (16-235) and select the appropriate output. Until then, I have to crank up the brightness for the Roku 2’s input on my TV. Looking forward to this being fixed.

(legalese)

Leave a Reply

